The Uganda Press Photo Award 2016

The 5th Edition of the Uganda Press Photo Award annual photo contest is officially open for your submissions and we wish to invite all Ugandan photojournalists and photographers to participate by submitting their best images.

Submission, as always is done online to 7 categories: News, Daily Life, Creative, Portrait, Sports, Nature & Story. Please read the rules and submission guidelines (link >> carefully before you submit your images.

The overall winner will receive the grand prize of a CANON EOS 7D MARK II DSLR camera sponsored by Canon. There will be other prizes for the runners up. 

We wish to welcome South Africa photojournalist Neo Ntsoma to this year’s judging panel; and welcome back Carl De Souza -- AFP’s chief photographer for East Africa, Katrin Peters-Klaphake -- a curator with extensive experience in photography and photojournalism, Nairobi based Nigerian photojournalist Jide Adeniyi-Jones, FCAU member and renowned photojournalist Frédérick Noy and finally Makerere University’s lecturer in photography -- Annette Seba.

The UPPA 2016 competition is organised with the support of Friedrich Ebert Stiftung, the Foreign Correspondents’ Association of Uganda, Canon and Feature Story News and Total.

The deadline for submissions is 1st September 2016, 12:00 am (midnight) EAT.     

The winners will be announced during a prize-giving ceremony at the end of October 2016, followed by a month long exhibition of the winning images at the Uganda Museum.


For any further information about Freidrich Ebert Stiftung please email fes[at], or phone 0414345535.

For more information about the UPPA:

Anna Kućma 
+256 (0) 775-835324

For more information on FCAU:


Will Boase 
+256 (0) 778-813489